ICC U19|T20 Cricket World Cup 2016.ICC U19|T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule, ICC U19|T20 World Cup 2016 Live Streaming, ICC U19|T20 World Cup 2016 Live Score, ICC U19|T20 World Cup 2016 Teams

Tuesday, 5 January 2016

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 history | Schedule | Live Streaming Score | u19 cwc 2016 | Fixtures | Teams

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 history | Schedule | Live Streaming Score | u19 cwc 2016 | Fixtures | Teams

icc u19 cricket world cup 2016
icc u19 cricket world cup 2016

The 2016 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup is an international limited-overs cricket tournament to be held in Bangladesh from 22 January to 14 February 2016. It will be the eleventh edition of the Under-19 Cricket World Cup, and the second to be held in Bangladesh, after the 2004 event.

The World Cup will be contested by the national under-19 teams of sixteen International Cricket Council (ICC) members, and all matches played will hold under-19 One Day International (ODI) status. Ten teams qualified automatically for the tournament through their status as ICC full members, while five others qualified by winning regional qualifying events. The final place at the tournament was taken by the winner of the 2015 Under-19 World Cup Qualifier, which was contested by the runners-up at the five regional qualifiers.

On 5 January 2016, Cricket Australia announced that the Australian U19 squad had pulled out of the tournament, citing security concerns. Ireland were invited as a replacement for Australia. On 6 January Cricket Ireland confirmed that Ireland would compete in the tournament.


History of ICC U19 Cricket World CUP

Australia and India are the only nations to have won the title three times.
Hosts: Australia
Winners: Australia

A brainchild of the then Australian Cricket Board’s General Manager, Graham Halbish, the inaugural ICC U19 Cricket World Cup – then named as the Youth World Cup – was staged across venues in Victoria and South Australia.

The tournament was played on a single league format with Australia and Pakistan qualifying for the final by topping the league. The host avenged their defeat at Pakistan’s hands in the league to bag the title with a five-wicket win at the Adelaide Oval.

Australia’s Brett Williams was the tournament’s leading scorer with 471 runs, while team-mate Wayne Holdsworth and Pakistan’s Mushtaq Ahmed headed the bowlers’ list with 19 wickets apiece.

Hosts: South Africa
Winners: England

The next edition was held after a gap of 10 years with the ICC deciding to make it a biennial tournament. Hosts South Africa joined eight other Test-playing nations and seven qualifiers –Bangladesh, Denmark, Ireland, Kenya, Namibia, Papua New Guinea and Scotland – in a 16-nation event.

Star cricketers to emerge from the tournament included Virender Sehwag and Harbhajan Singh of India, Shoaib Malik and Abdul Razzaq of Pakistan, England’s Graeme Swann, Kyle Mills of New Zealand, Imran Tahir of South Africa (who played for Pakistan), Sri Lanka’s Dilhara Fernando, and Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Darren Ganga from the West Indies.

Gayle was the tournament’s leading scorer with 364 runs, while team-mate Ramnaresh Sarwan and Zimbabwe’s Mluleki Nkala were the top bowlers with 16 wickets each.

Hosts: Sri Lanka
Winners: India

The tournament was hosted in Asia for the first time and featured seven qualifiers – the Americas Region, Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Kenya and the Netherlands – alongside the nine Test nations.

In a fitting climax, two Asian teams contested the Super League final with India defeating hosts Sri Lanka by six wickets at the Sinhalese Sports Club in Colombo. Nepal became the first non-Test nation to progress to the quarter-finals, but South Africa won the Plate championships with an 80-run win over Bangladesh.

Hosts: New Zealand
Winners: Australia

The Test group, now enlarged to 10 nations after the admission of Bangladesh following the 2000 event, were joined by six qualifiers -- Canada, Kenya, Namibia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea and Scotland for the next edition in New Zealand.

Australia claimed its second ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title with a seven-wicket win over South Africa in the Super League final, while Zimbabwe cantered to a 137-run victory against Nepal in the Plate final.

Hosts: Bangladesh
Winners: Pakistan

Pakistan won its first ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title when the tournament was held in Bangladesh in 2004. The event featured six qualifiers – Canada, Kenya, Namibia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea and Scotland – along with the 10 Test nations.

Pakistan defeated the West Indies by 25 runs in a closely-contested Super League final, while hosts Bangladesh stunned Australia by eight wickets in the Plate final.

Hosts: Sri Lanka
Winners: Pakistan

Pakistan retained the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title when the tournament returned to Sri Lanka for the second time with the 10 Test nations joined by qualifiers, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Scotland, Uganda and the United States of America.

In two edge-of-the-seat thrillers, Pakistan defeated arch-rivals India by 38 runs to win the Super League final and Nepal pipped New Zealand by one wicket to lift the Plate title.

Hosts: Malaysia
Winners: India

The tournament was hosted for the first time by a non-Test playing nation when Malaysia organised the 2008 event. This time the qualifiers were Bermuda, Ireland, Malaysia, Namibia, Nepal and Papua New Guinea.

India’s current Test captain Virat Kohli led his team to victory by beating South Africa by 12 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method after a rain-affected final at the Kinrara Academy Oval ground on the outskirts of capital Kuala Lumpur.

The West Indies defeated Nepal by seven wickets to win the Plate final.

Host: New Zealand
Winner: Australia

Afghanistan, Canada, Hong Kong, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and the USA were the qualifiers in the next edition in New Zealand which was won by Trans-Tasman rivals Australia. Australia beat Pakistan in a repeat of the 1988 final, this time by 25 runs, to grab its third U19 title.

Bangladesh whipped Ireland by 195 runs to win the Plate final.

Host: Australia
Winner: India

India joined Australia as a three-time winner of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup with a commendable six-wicket victory over the hosts at the Tony Ireland stadium in Townsville.

Sri Lanka won the Plate championships after beating fast-improving Afghanistan by seven wickets.

The tournament was competed by the 10 Test-playing nations and six qualifiers -- Scotland, Nepal, Ireland, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and Namibia.

Host: United Arab Emirates
Winner: South Africa

South Africa dominated from start to finish as it emerged unbeaten through the tournament before beating crowd favourites Pakistan by six wickets in the final at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Bangladesh won the Plate final with a 77-run win over New Zealand.

history of under 19 world cup
who won the inaugural u19 world cup
under 19 world cup history
under 19 cricket world cup history 
under 19 cricket world cup winner list
u19 cricket world cup wiki


Post a Comment

Copyright © 2016 ICC U19|T20 Cricket World Cup 2016 Schedule | Live Streaming Score | Teams | cwc 2016 | Fixtures All Logos and Trademark Belongs To Their Respective Owners·